3 Million and Counting

Celebrating Library Collections at UNM
Billy the Kid Portrait

In April of 2013 University Libraries will hold a celebration to acknowledge reaching the impressive milestone of three million volumes in our collections.

The official three millionth volume is the generous donation of the William A. Keleher family, long-time UNM and library supporters. The Authentic Life of Billy the Kid, written by Pat Garrett and published in Santa Fe in 1882 (10 years before UNM was founded) is extremely rare and made even more valuable since it is a copy signed by the author. The volume adds significantly to the prestige of the already highly-respected collections documenting the history of New Mexico and the Southwest in the University Libraries Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections.

The celebration will feature a brief talk by historian Durwood Ball, editor of the New Mexico Historical Review, on the legend of Billy the Kid and the official presentation of the volume to University Libraries by the Keleher Family. A reception will conclude the evening.

Find Out More

C-SPAN bookTV interview with Mike Kelly, Associate Dean for Scholarly Communications, Special Collections and the Center for Southwest Resarch & Special Collections, on the history of "The Authentic Life of Billy the Kid"

Visit the Centennial Science and Engineering Library to view "The Geography of Billy the Kid" a special display of maps from the collections of the Map and Geographic Information Center.

Commemorative Publication
Cover of the  3 million Volume PublicationThree MIllion and Counting: the authentic story of a rare book, library donors, famous authors, university faculty, staff and students, and how they built a research library collection at the University of New Mexico. Edited by Steven R. Harris.

In recognition of this special occasion University Libraries is publishing a commemorative volume of essays which will be available at the event on April 1. Essays contributed to the volume are:

  • After Noon in Yootó, Luci Tapahonso, Professor of English
  • Oasis on the Mesa, Rudolfo A. Anaya, Professor Emeritus of English
  • What Is a Volume?, Martha Bedard, Dean of University Libraries
  • Celebrating Three Million Volumes, Dr. Robert G. Frank, President, University of New Mexico
  • From One Room to Three Million Volumes: A History of Library Collections at the University of New Mexico, Steven R. Harris, Director of Collections & Acquisitions Services, University Libraries
  • The Library as a Setting for Fiction, Judith van Gieson, author of the Claire Reynier mystery series
  • The Tale of the University of New Mexico Libraries’ Three Millionth VolumeDurwood Ball, Associate Professor of History, editor of the New Mexico Historical Review
Thank You!

We would like to thank the donors who contributed to the publication of the commemorative volume.

Dr. Lorraine C. Attreed and Mr. James F. Powers
Dean Martha A. Bedard and Mr. Denis Bedard
Mr. Carlton Boren
Stanley E. Boyd and Marilyn L. Boyd
Professor Sherri L. Burr
Mr. Thomas H. Claffey and Mrs. Sylvia P. Claffey
Ms. Anne Warden Clark
Ms. Grace Sterling Clark
Mr. Saul Cohen and Mrs. Anne-Lise Cohen
Dr. Alice H. Cushing
Ms. Helen Damico
Mr. Russ T. Davidson and Ms. Revathi A. Davidson
Ms. Sara H. Ford
Mr. Robert Ghattas and Mrs. Monika Ghattas
Dr. Mimi R. Gladstein
Mr. Guy R. Giersch
Mr. Thomas B. Herrlinger and Ms. Elizabeth K. Herrlinger
Mr. David Van Holtby and Mrs. Jeanne I. Holtby
Mr. James R. Hulsman and Mrs. Mary Lois Hulsman
Ms. Niña Johnson
Mr. Mark D. Johnston
Dr. Michael H. Kaufman and Mrs. Bonnie G. Kaufman
Mr. John G. Keleher
Mr. Michael L. Keleher
Mr. Thomas F. Keleher
Mr. William B. Keleher
Mr. Michael T. Kelly
Dr. John L. Kessell
Mr. Louis R. Leurig and Ms. Barbara J. Leurig
Mr. Willard E. Lewis, Jr and Mrs. Kay C. Lewis
Mr. Jeffrey R. MacNutt
Ms. Sarah E. Marks
Dr. Julia Marlowe

Maria Teresa Marquez
Dr. Phillip L. Melville and Ms. Sheila D. Melville
Ms. Carol A. Myers
Ms. Doris Meyer and Mr. Richard Hertz
Dr. Joseph and Jane Matthews
Ms. Joyce Neimanas
Dr. Genaro M. Padilla
Ms. Barbara Peters
Mrs. Phyllis Burch Rapagnani and Mr. Nazareno L. Rapagnani
Dr. Barry W. Ramo and Mrs. Roberta Cooper Ramo
Mrs. Lyle O. Ramsey
Mr. William L. Risso
James W. Rogers, Jr.
Michael W. Rogers
Ann Rogers Rothman
Mr. Joseph D. Sabatini and Ms. Mary Sabatini
Mr. Michael Sarraino and Mrs. Kathleen A. Sarraino
Susan Rogers Schenkelberg
Mr. Jeffrey J. Shuster and Ms. Daly Gedanic Shuster
Mrs. Elizabeth J. Slota
Mr. Robert D. Taichert and Mrs. Helen Jane B. Taichert
Major General H. Tom Taylor, Jr. and Ms. Ingeborg S. Taylor
Mr. Bradley David Tepper and Mrs. Jan Gilman Tepper
Ms. Harriet Thorson
Mark B Thompson III and Billie Jean William Thompson
Lynn, Craig and Rachel Trojahn
Dr. Richard D. Van Dongen and Dr. Barbara C. Van Dongen
Mr. Charles I. Wellborn and Ms. J. D. Wellborn
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Wertheim
Mr. Joseph M. Wexler and Ms. Merida L. Wexler
Dr. Frances C. Wilkinson
Mr. Hugh Hazen Witemeyer and Ms. Barbara Ellen Witemeyer